Property Search

Meet the Team - Helen Butterfield

Meet the Team - Helen Butterfield

15 February 2018

Something we aim to do, from time to time, is introduce you to members of the team here at Casas Espania.

Next up is Company Administrator, Helen:

Name: Helen Butterfield
Age: 47
Position: Company Administrator
Office: La Zenia mainly
Status: Separated
Children: 2
Grand Children: 0
Pets: 2 Dogs, 1 cat, 1 Rabbit
From: Worksop
Previous Experience: Veterinary Nurse, Sales Agent, Office Manager
Lives at: La Siesta
Hi, I´m Helen.
I´m a single mum with 2 girls, 2 dogs, a cat and a rabbit. My eldest daughter is 18 now and has just started to work for Casas Espania and the younger one is 12 and goes to a local Spanish secondary school.

I grew up in a small mining village in Nottinghamshire, close to many family members but I think I always knew that I would make the move to live abroad one day. In 2003 I emigrated to the Torrevieja area and I´ve been here ever since!

In England I qualified as a veterinary nurse (That explains all the pets!) and I worked in the same practice there for 15 years. Here in Spain it was difficult to find a job in a vets so I have done lots of different things from cleaning peoples houses to waiting on tables in a golf club. Eventually I was offered a job as a veterinary nurse in a local practice and I worked there for 6 years. In the mean time, my dad who had emigrated here with my mum a year or so after me, and a couple of his friends founded a business. The business soon became very successful with a couple of offices and quite a few staff members. That business was Casas Espania. In 2012 I left the vets and started to work for the company. I started at the bottom, worked hard and hopefully I´ve proved to everyone that giving me a chance to work for the company was a good decision. When my dad decided to retire last June, I was ready to take over his position. So now I am a company director!

Moving to Spain for me was a fantastic decision. Don´t get me wrong, sometimes it´s been difficult and I´ve missed family but the opportunities I´ve been given here would never have arisen in England, the life style is SO much better here and much more laid back, and you soon realise that maybe you don´t see family members as often as you would if you still lived in UK but when you do see them it´s real quality time, so you do more together.
If any of you are thinking of making the move, what's stopping you? If I can do it, so can you.

Do you need help?